To that almost right person who just got the time wrong

bluenytimes.jpg

original photo from www.pinterest.com/pin/115193702938969267/

To that almost right person who just got the time wrong,

I’ve always thought love was all chains
and various kinds of suffocation,
but yours felt like that first glorious breath after drowning;
you made me believe in miracles
over and over and over again.

When I was younger,
I petted butterflies in my stomach
so my body could give me a signal
when I start liking someone:
1..2..3… run.
It worked
every
single
time.

And then there was you.
You made flowers grow in my lungs
and we broke me a little
to have just enough cracks
to let the light in. We built a home
for the colorful winged beasts
It was beautiful.

We, too,
could have been beautiful.

