To everyone I loved who left me, I thank you for the gift of poetry

To everyone I loved who left me,
do not go back only to tell me you’re sorry.
Apologies aren’t bandages and we are not fractured bones
that will simply realign over time.
We are a bad case of abrasion,
of skin wearing away,
so save your sorry’s
for they are antiseptics
way past their expiration date.
If I take them, I will only remember where it hurts
and why it hurts but still my wounds
will refuse to heal.

To everyone I loved who left me,
please know I don’t think of you as terrible people,
just very good ones who happened to have to leave.
May you find new and better love
and I wish myself the same. If we shall meet again,
I hope to see the most beautiful you’ve ever been.

To everyone I loved who left me,
I thank you for the gift of poetry.
Maybe you robbed me of reasons
but you gave me my words.
You are why I write poems,
why I learned to tame my sadness,
why I embrace goodbyes and their permanence.

Sometimes I miss you
but do stay gone.
Let your ever after be yours,
and mine be mine.

 

