A Self-Portrait

Today at work, we were asked to draw a self-portrait and to write three things we like about ourselves. While the others drew pencil sketches and cartoonized versions of themselves paired with the nicest adjectives, I came up with this drawing (with the help of various Pinterest posts of course) and short poem:

12048648_10204641901260751_785862550_n


I am more than just a girl with a face.
I am home to myself and to someone else.
I am flowers sprouting from chimney tops.
I love art. I make art. I am art.

Maybe this wasn’t the right thing to do but it’s what felt right at the moment. I misght as well follow my he(art). Besides, I’ve always had this fetish for defying instruction. As one of my favorite saying goes: “Learn the rules like a pro so you can break them like an artist.”

