In an Alternate Universe

In an alternate universe, I could be an astronaut discovering stars and having them named after me. Or maybe a lawyer handling cases all related to misogyny.

In an alternate universe, I could be married at age 16 to the man of my dreams. Or a Mother Superior in a convent in Italy having casual talks with the Pope over a cup of tea.

In an alternate universe. I could be famous and rich without having done anything significant. I would be needing some sort of PSG to avoid paparazzi. And a whole lot of shades and wigs, maybe (that’d be cool).

But I’ll only know this universe. I’ll only know this lifetime. I’ll only know the struggles of my own nation and want to make them my own.

At age 21 the very thing I’m most proud of is the fact that I have kept all the right people well and I have let go gracefully of the used-to-be right people (“wrong people” don’t exist; they’re always the right ones but we respect time constraint)

At age 21, you could say that finishing college with flying colors is one heck of an achievement. Maybe. But that’s not a story I’m going to tell my kids unless they ask. My children will hear stories like how I stayed up til 2AM every single day, reading art pages and talking to friends. They will know that I get bad scores in objective exams but my professors remember my name and smile at me long after the sem is over because my every recitation is art in itself. My children will know that I’ve always known what I wanted to do with my life and every decision I made is a choice to be closer to my personal dream. My children will know that when I dream for myself, I also dream for others.

One day I swear I’m gonna write a book or two or more. I will not write it just because I want to be published. That’s selfish. I’m gonna write something that will matter to human souls. It;s gonna be hard because in art there are no formulas. There are no right and wrong answers. You could memorize the rules and theories all you want and not come up with a masterpiece. It’s hard but it’s worth it– you know– finding answers before somebody asks the questions. It’s a miracle on its own.

It’s 2015 and the best years of my life are ahead of me. Or maybe some of them are behind me. I don’t know. Every moment. every now, I consider it best.

So yeah, in an alternate universe I could be someone else. But I’ll only feel myself in this one. And that, for me, is more than enough.

Happy graduation to me and all my friends and batchmates! Congrats Class of 2015!

Happy graduation to me and all my friends and batchmates! Congratulations Class of 2015!

