When I Grew Up

original background photo from backgroundsnshit.tumblr.com

original background photo from backgroundsnshit.tumblr.com

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” Every child has been asked this question countless of times and I was no exception. I remember having different answers with innocent reasons.

  1. Professional pianist because it’s classy.
  2. Detective because I definitely would love the thrill of it.
  3. TV host because you get to go to different places and experience so many things for free.
  4. Lawyer because you can sound right all the time and almost everyone believes you.
  5. Doctor because I want to help other people feel better.

Apparently I am nowhere near becoming any of those. And that’s okay. As I grew older I figured I didn’t want to be one person all my life. Just the thought of it alone came off as tedious. So I decided to be someone who writes. Not a writer, just someone who writes. Oftentimes I’m an average girl sharing her worldviews in a personal blog only a couple of people care about; sometimes I turn into wild creatures living only in between once upon a time and happily ever after; other times I find myself being so many beautiful and ugly things stuck in rhymes and meters and verses. It was then that I realized that if you can write, you can really be anything and everything you want.

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” I’m already a grown up and I honestly still could not answer this simple question. Maybe I don’t want to be something; maybe I just want to do something, that is, to write. There are five reasons I want to be someone who writes:

  1. because it’s classy.
  2. because I definitely would love the thrill of it.
  3. because you get to go to different places and experience so many things for free.
  4. because you can sound right all the time and almost everyone believes you.
  5. because I want to help other people feel better.

Lately a number of friends and family members keep asking me what I plan to do after finishing my thesis and graduating college. I just give everyone the classic shrug.

But deep down I know.
I’ve always known.

