Some Beautiful Things

Image

background photo from http://www.smscs.com

When I imagine beautiful things…

I think of Christmas candy canes
and a thousand colorful paper cranes.
I think of clear water in a quiet pond,
and of holding hands under the warm summer sand.

I think of a world made of Lego blocks
and of different items in the lost and found box.
I think of the sun, just a glimpse away.
I think of random doodles from every day.

And when I think of all these beautiful things,
I understand how some beautiful things work.

Some beautiful things easily bend or break.
Some beautiful things you think of, but never make.
Some beautiful things you touch but never hold.
Some beautiful things you hear though never told.

Some beautiful things exist but are barely known.
Some beautiful things you keep but never own.
Some beautiful things look so close though so far.
Some beautiful things don’t even know what they are.

And when I think of all these beautiful things,
I understand how some beautiful things work—

That beautiful things don’t always have beautiful ends,
But beautiful things will always be beautiful things.

 

*written for my Creative Writing 150 class

